In order to become a notary some states require that new and/or renewing applicants take a notary education/notary training course or a notary exam. The following is a complete list of edcuation and exam requirements by state. If you have any questions please contact ASN at (850) 671-5164.
NOTARY EDUCATION AND/OR EXAM REQUIREMENTS BY STATE
Alabama- Not required; but at county probate judge's discretion.
Alaska- Not required; but education is recommended.
Arkansas- Not required; Secretary of State provides free educational seminars.
California- Education course and exam required; for a new commission applicants must take a 6-hour course and renewing applicants must take a 3-hour refresher course. In order to be eligible for the 3-hour refresher course, applicants must renew prior to their expiration date.
Colorado- Education course and exam required for new notaries; and renewing notaries who allow their commission to lapse for more than 30 days.
Connecticut- Exam required; exam is contained in the application form.
Delaware- Not required for paper notaries; to be required for DE Electronic Notaries.
District of Columbia- Orientation/exam required; to be scheduled after application has been approved. Renewing notaries do not have to retake the exam, except when commission has lapsed for one year or more.
Florida- Education course required; for new notaries or those applying after a lengthy commission lapse who have not previously taken an approved 3-hour course.
Georgia- Not Required
Hawaii- Exam Required
Idaho- Not Required
Illinois- Not Required
Indiana- Not Required
Iowa- Not Required
Kansas- Not Required
Kentucky- Not Required
Louisiana- Exam required; attorneys licensed in Louisiana are exempt from taking the exam. Provisional notaries must pass only the multiple choice and research sections of the exam initially, but must pass all other sections of the exam by 8-1-16 or the commission will expire. Provisional notaries must also attend a notary orientation class.
Maine- Exam required; the exam is an open-book exam and is included with the application. Renewing resident applicants take the exam via the online renewal system. New Hampshire residents still have/had a paper renewal form as of Spring 2014.
Maryland- Not Required
Massachusetts- Not Required
Michigan- Not Required
Minnesota- Not Required
Mississippi- Not Required
Missouri- Education course required; (online or other manner) for new and renewing notary applicants. Reading the Missouri Notary Public Handbook is also required.
Montana- Education course required; new notaries and certain renewing notaries are required to complete an education course. (Applicable to renewing notaries who did not renew within 30 days of commission lapse, and those who have been notified by the SOS office that they must complete an education course.)
Nebraska- Exam Required
Nevada- Education course required; new applicants must complete a 4-hour education course taken either online or in a live classroom environment. Renewing applicants whose commission has lapsed for longer than 1-year must take the education course. Education is also required for renewal applicants who were fined for non-compliance with notary law or rules during their prior four-year term.
New Hampshire- Not Required
New Jersey- Not Required
New Mexico- Not Required
New York- Exam required; attorneys licensed to practice law in New York are exempt from taking the exam.
North Carolina- Education course and exam required; not less than 6 hours of classroom instruction required for new notaries (members of the North Carolina Bar are exempted). Both new applicants and renewing notaries must take the exam.
North Dakota- Not Required
Ohio- Not Required
Oklahoma- Not Required
Oregon- Education course and exam required; the written/open book exam is included in the application or may be taken online if taking the Oregon Secretary of State's online tutorial. New applicants, and renewing notaries whose commissions have lapsed, are required to complete a 3-hour “state approved” education course taken either online or in a live classroom environment.
Pennsylvania- Education course required; new and renewing notary applicants. Education must be at least 3 hours taken either online or in a classroom environment and must be taken within a 6-month period preceding commission application.
Rhode Island- Not Required
South Carolina- Not Required
South Dakota- Not Required
Tennessee- Not Required
Texas- Not Required
Utah- Exam required; exam is administered online at www.utah.gov.
Vermont- Not Required
Virginia- Not Required
Virgin Islands (U.S.)- Not Required
Washington- Not Required
West Virginia- Not Required
Wisconsin- Not Required
Wyoming- Not Required; although an exam is not required by law the Secretary of State's Office highly recommends that all notary applicants take the self-help test available on their website.
NOTE: All information above is current as of June 2015.